4 Month Update

I took Carcar to the doctor today for his 4 months checkup.  He’s great!  Of course, we already knew that. He’s pretty much in the 50% across the board.  He started rolling from his stomach to his back two days ago.  He is holding onto things well, grabbing, trying to sit up, and laughs all the time.  The only thing he is NOT doing is sleeping through the night yet.  AHHH  The doctor told me to let him yell for a while because he is able to sleep through the night by now.  Easier said than done.  Maybe I’ll try tonight since the other kids are still at my moms.

When I got to the docs office I had to wait a few minutes so I picked up a parents magazine as something caught my eye.  There was an article in it about how to have painless shots.  There were several ideas but one I liked was about a cream called EMLA.  Sounded good so I asked the doctor about it.  Let me preface this by saying I don’t wholeheartedly like this doctor because she isn’t lovey, lovey most of the time.  Anyway, I asked her if they ever use it and she told me no.  She suggested trying sugar water on the paci and went on to say that s.w. probably worked better. She said the EMLA only numbs the top layer, where the needle would be inserted and not the muscle where is most likely burns.  Blah, blah, blah.  Okay, so maybe she is right but as a mother I want to give my child every possiblity of not having to hurt each month he visits the doctor.  Be a proponent or advocate for my children.  I asked if I called a couple of days before his next appointment would they give me a prescription for it.  It never hurts to try something.  If it doesn’t work…I won’t do it again.

So, he’s growing and eating and I’m going to try to get some sleep tonight.  I’m sure I will update the results of this experiement.

Carson and his buddy Ethan!

Leave a comment

Filed under Kids

Leave a Reply

