A “brown” baby sister

So, a couple of days ago Kendra came to me and told me (not the first time) that she wants to be white.  I just told her as I always do that we are all different and she is beautiful.  Then she said she wants the baby in my belly to be brown like her.  OHHHHH.  Did that take me aback.  What do you say to that?  I felt bad in that moment but tried to figure out what to say.  I don’t think I said anything.  How do you explain to a 4 year old (though highly gifted ;-)) that mommy and daddy who are white are probably going to have a white baby?  Boy the questions are starting already.

Well, then I started thinking about how she must feel.  Not that this is the first time I’ve thought about it.  She’s mentioned before about being “brown” and we’re white.  This is just something we knew we would deal with as a blended family through adoption. Luckily, I have support groups who can help me through this and as she is getting ready to start school, she will be more aware of the diversity around her.  We try not to shelter her and make sure she has many experiences with so many things and people.  I’m sure it is just hard as she is getting older to understand her place in the world and our family.  She is our first child and I guess I need to make that more clear.  We don’t think any differently of her than the other ones but I never stopped to think that maybe she does.  She sees herself different while we do not. 

This is going to be an interesting journey.  Oh my, and I will throw something else out there…for another post another night.  As this comment was made by her and my mind started churning………I began to think…..dare I say it….maybe we should adopt another biracial child.  Yeah, we’ll start by getting “Clara” out of mommys belly first.

Oh, to ponder…….

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Kids

Leave a Reply

